DNC Announces First Democrat Presidential Debate Lineups

The debate deadline that was set by the Democrat National Committee (DNC) has passed, and not everyone will be allowed to utilize the national debate platform ahead of the 2020 Presidential election.

The requirements were such that to make the stage, Democrats had to reach one of the following two milestones: recruit 65,000 donors (with 200+ in 20 states) or perform above 1% in three polls deemed scientific by the DNC.

As candidates scrambled to meet the requirements, the DNC also announced a first-come-first-serve policy when it proclaimed that no more than 20 candidates would be permitted to participate in the first debate.

As it turns out, twenty candidates made the cut while another four will likely no longer be viewed as viable candidates. NBC has announced that the twenty presidential hopefuls have been randomly split into two groups, one to debate on June 26th and the other the following evening.

Perhaps the more desirable debate will be the 27th as Democrat front-runners Joe Biden, and Bernie Sanders will likely draw a larger television audience than all the previous evening’s participants combined.

On Wednesday, June 26th the following ten candidates will debate at 8 pm on NBC:

  1. Washington Gov. Jay Insley
  2. Former US Rep. Robert O’Rourke (TX)
  3. US Sen. Elizabeth Warren (MA)
  4. US Sen. Cory Booker (NJ)
  5. New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio
  6. US Sen. Amy Klobuchar (MN)
  7. US Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (HI)
  8. Former San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro (TX)
  9. Former US Rep. John Delaney (MA)
  10. US Rep. Tim Ryan (OH)

On Thursday, June 27th, the other ten candidates will debate at 8 pm on NBC:

  1. Former Vice President Joe Biden (PA)
  2. US Sen. Bernie Sanders (VT)
  3. Former CA Attorney General Kamala Harris (CA)
  4. Mayor Pete Buttigieg (FL)
  5. US Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (NY)
  6. Former Gov. John Hickenlooper (CO)
  7. US Rep. Eric Swalwell (CA)
  8. Andrew Yang (NY)
  9. Marianne Williamson (TX)
  10. US Sen. Michael Bennet (CO)

The four candidates who did not make the debate stage are:

  • Gov. Steve Bullock (MN)
  • Former US Sen. Mike Gravel (AK)
  • Mayor Wayne Messam (FL)
  • US Rep. Seth Moulton (MA)

About The Author

Matthew Howerton is a writer, political consultant, campaign manager, and former congressional staffer based out of Louisiana. Matt was born in Houston, Texas where he was active in promoting christian-conservative policies and candidates for public office. Having served on eight campaigns and as a staffer for the 115th Congress, Matt has a wealth of political knowledge and experience. His electoral assists include a newly-elected U.S. Senator, Governor, U.S. Congressman, State Representative, and City Councilman. Matt continues to fight for common-sense solutions for Texas, Louisiana and the United States.

2 Comments on "DNC Announces First Democrat Presidential Debate Lineups"

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *